Classic Comic Covers Recreated

 

Silver Surfer

Behold…. The Silver Surfer!   One of the coolest things about being a cartoonist is having friends that are also cartoonists!   Such as my pal Bruce McCorkindale.   Bruce is not only the inker on one of the hottest selling comics going,  Godzilla, but also the mastermind behind these classic comic cover recreations!   These unique pieces of art are so cool I ended up buying two……

Everyone who knows me, knows I’m a huge Batman fan, so I had to have this one.

 

 

Now everyone that visits me will know, ’cause it’s hanging on the living room wall!

When he can find them, Bruce works off of photocopies of the penciler’s work.   So for instance, on a Fantastic Four cover, it’s Kirby/McCorkindale instead of Kirby/Sinnott

Bruce even adds the printers marks, such as the registration marks and notes along the edge.  I prefer to crop them out with the matt boards.

 

 

 

 

Bruce McCorkindale

 

 

 

If you’re interested in having Bruce recreate one or two of your favorite old comic covers , let me know.  I think his rules are it has to be one from the 1970’s or older and the illustrator has to be deceased.

 

One Response to “Classic Comic Covers Recreated”

  1. Mark Zahner Says:

    Hi Terry,

    I just stumbled on to Bruce McCorkindale and his cover recreations and wondered if he still did commissions. If so, do you know how to get ahold of him?

    Thanks

    Mark

Leave a Reply

