Bookshelf: Figure Drawing for All It’s Worth


This is my well worn copy of Andrew Loomis‘ book “Figure Drawing for All It’s Worth. This is THE best book you’ll find for understanding how to portray the figure in “3d” space. I’ve dozens of books on anatomical illustration in my library. If I had to pick just one, this is definitely the one I’d grab as I ran from my burning house.

First published in 1943,  it’s gone through 25 printings, the last one in 1973.  When I was growing up, I recall seeing abridged forms of this tome published by Walter Foster, those thin oversized volumes that are popular in art supply stores.  This book is 204 pages, each loaded with information on anatomy, balance, foreshortening, composition, and the tough subject of placing the anatomical figure in space.

There are lots of anatomical charts like this one in the book.  But most anatomy books feature these.  What makes this Andrew Loomis book great are diagrams and illustrations which instruct on how to think about  the figure relating to the space it occupies.  Charts like these below……

There is so much information packed into this book and Loomis knows how to make it easy to assimilate.   The book is out of print, but you can get it on Ebay Auctions.  Be prepared to pay from $100 to $200.  If you’re a starving artist, and I remember what’s that like, here’s where you can get it for free:

http://www.fineart.sk/index.php?cat=12

and

http://www.scribd.com/doc/2433658/Andrew-Loomis-Figure-Drawing-For-All-its-Worth

 

2 Responses to “Bookshelf: Figure Drawing for All It’s Worth”

  1. T-Totally Tawny Says:

    I love the title. It’s like he is saying, “Yeah, I mean I guess if you find some value in FIGURE DRAWING, I wrote this book about it. Loser.”

Leave a Reply

